Resolution after resolution: gaming goals for 2017

I don’t do new year’s resolutions. Not very often anyway.

2015 happened to be one of the most challenging and difficult years of my life, so I decided I’d give myself a goal. I’d try and start a blog. Nearly a whole year later, and here we are. In contrast, 2016 has been twice as hectic, but oh so much more rewarding, but for some strange reason, I want to get in on this new years resolution stuff.

As this is the first post of a game-focused blog, I figured I’d come up with a list of gaming goals I’d like to achieve in 2017. And here we have it. I hope you’ll join me for the next 12 months!

The new releases

2016 was a good year for gaming, you say? How does 2017 sound? Better? I think so. Realistically, I’ll probably get around to 5 new releases this coming year. I think that’s a fair number. That way, if I get a new game in the spur of the moment, I can add that to the pile. New releases, go!

1) Persona 5

What’s that? What are you saying? I can’t hear you over the sound of how excited I am for Persona 5. Seriously. I watched the trailer for this back in 2014, and that singlehandedly got me into the Persona series. I’ve played 4 and 3, and 5 looks like it’s taking the best from both of these entries. Take your heart? Persona 5, you’ve already done that.

2) Yooka-Laylee

If you think I only like RPGs, think again. Yooka-Laylee is made by many of the same people who brought us Banjo-Kazooie and the sequel. That’s right, original Rareware developers. I crave good platformers in the 21st century, I really do, and Yooka-Laylee seems to fit the bill. It’s bright, cheerful, colourful, and if it’s got that Rareware flavour of humour in there, then this one’s a winner.

3) NieR: Automata

NieR was a big surprise when I played it at the beginning of 2016. It was clunky, looked a little rough, but the heart and creativity that was pouring out of it meant I couldn’t put it down. Automata fixes pretty much every control issue I had with the original. It looks damn beautiful to boot, too. I’m so glad Square Enix has given this series another chance. With Platinum Games now at the helm, I’m praying they wont compromise the story for the gameplay. Regardless, this is a must-buy for me.

4) Tales of Berseria

Tales of + Pirates = winner? Possibly. I’ll be honest and say after Zestiria and Hearts R, my love for the Tales of series has diminished a little. Knowing Berseria is a distant prequel to Zestiria didn’t really help my enthusiasm, but what I’ve heard about the game has been far more positive. I’ve yet to decide whether I’ll pick this up on release, but I definitely plan to make time for it in 2017.

5) Stormblood: Final Fantasy XIV

Don’t get into a MMO, they said. You’ll lose so much of your life, they said. Whoops. 2016 marked the first time I played, and paid for, an MMO. Final Fantasy XIV is fantastic, and I wish I’d gotten to it sooner. Luckily, by the time I’ve caught up with all the patches and content, Stormblood should be out, and boy oh boy I cannot wait. Perhaps I’ll be Eternally Bonded by this point. Hah.

The unfinished

I’ve got a couple of games sitting around, waiting to be finished. 5 is the magic number. I’ve started all of these in 2016, but life and other commitments have meant I’ve had to push them to one side occasionally. Juggling is fun, kids.

1) Shadow Hearts: Covenant

This is a game I’ve played twice before. This is why I have a backlog. But this third playthrough has a purpose. We’re covering Shadow Hearts Covenant as part of Retro Encounter on RPGFan, so I absolutely had to be on that podcast. As of writing this, I’ve just landed in Turkey. This will be finished mid January, for definite. Oh god, I forgot how much I loved this game.

2) Final Fantasy XV

And I love this game too. A lot. No, really, it’s got so many holes and flaws, but it’s excellent. It’s fun to play, the main four are a fantastic group of heroes, and there’s new recipes everywhere. Sorry, I had to get that meme in there somewhere. I’ve plugged 30 hours into the game and I’m still in chapter 3. I expect my pace will quicken and I’ll have this done by the end of January, maybe mid February at the latest.

3) Digimon Story: Cyber Sleuth

I started this back at the beginning of 2016, then re bought it for the Vita. I’m over halfway through and I love so much about this quirky little Digimon game. This was my favourite show as a kid, and to have my own party of Digimon is a dream come true. This is easily a pick up and play game, so this might not get done until April or May, but we shall see.

4) Heavensward: Final Fantasy XIV

Yeah, you know how excited I am for Stormblood? I’ve got a whole expansion to get through first. FFXIV does Final Fantasy and MMO so well, and from what I’ve heard, Heavensward ramps the story up tenfold. Ishgard looks amazing, the primals look amazing. Just let me get to them first!

5) Dragon Quest Heroes

This is like Digimon, where I started this a long time ago, but just let everything else get in the way. I really enjoyed what I played, though! It’s an easy game to sit down and relax to because it’s really easy to get into, but hard to master. I’ve not got a time limit on this one, so it’ll be a low priority one, and maybe then we can look at getting the sequel, hey?

The backlog

The backlog is probably the scariest word for any gamer. All of us have got one, but just how many of us acknowledge how bad they’ve got? What with digital gaming, Steam and all things free, our backlogs have got a whole lot bigger over recent years. I’m hoping to knock 4 games out of my backlog this year.These are the games I want to start for the first time in 2017!

1) Chrono Cross

Chrono Trigger is one of my all time favourite games, and in my eyes it’s the quintessential example of what a JRPG should be like. So, why haven’t I played the sequel? The dreaded Europe curse. Chrono Cross never came out in Europe, so I didn’t become aware of its existence until I played Chrono Trigger some 5 years ago (for the record, Chrono Trigger also didn’t make it to Europe until 2009.) I finally bought a digital copy of the game in 2015, and it’s been sitting there waiting to be played ever since. Yes, I know its very different from Chrono Trigger, but visually it looks gorgeous, the music is to die for, and quite frankly, I can’t wait to get into the story. It doesn’t matter how convoluted it might be, it sounds every bit intriguing
.       

2) The Legend of Heroes: Trails of Cold Steel AND/OR Trails in the Sky

Here’s the deal – I’ve never played a Falcom game. Yeah. I own both of these classic, beloved RPGs but I’ve never touched them. I bought Trails in the Sky very cheaply on Steam, and my mum (yes, you read that) is currently playing Trails of Cold Steel. And I love what I’ve seen. Classic, turn based JRPG goodness with excellent characters and stories? Count me in. Because of the sheer length of them, it’s only likely I’ll get to one of these, but I’d love to play both at some point. At the very least, what I don’t play this year will roll over to next year.

3) DanganRonpa 2: Goodbye Despair

I played the first DanganRonpa game for RPGFan’s Retro Encounter back in September, and adored it. the characters were insanely exaggerated anime tropes but also managed to subvert all of your expectations. Each one was charming in their own way. It managed to make a Visual Novel/Graphic Adventure game excellent. Now, I’m planning to get to the sequel early this year. I’m hoping it’s as zany and hilarious as the first game. With the third in the series due out in 2017, this will make my preparation halfway complete.

4) Ys: The Oath in Felghana AND/OR Origin

So, you know I said earlier I’d never played a Falcom game? We’re going to try and shatter that this year by tackling one, probably two, of the Ys games as well as the Trails games. I was gifted these by Mike Salbato last year, and I’m really excited to play them. Since they’re rather short, I’m hoping to squeeze both of these in, depending on my review commitments, but if I can only play one, Oath with be the first I’ll get to.

One thought on “Resolution after resolution: gaming goals for 2017

  1. Wow Shadow Hearts Covenant, that’s a blast from the past. Starts great, descends into nonsense by the end. Worth finishing for closure though.
    Trails in the Sky mm! Awesome and epic. Just finished Trails SC and it was a marathon. A delightful marathon. I need a break now before Cold Steel.

    Like

Leave a Reply

